Commonwealth Shared Scholarships is a project run by the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission and UK universities. It is funded by the Department for International Development (DFID) and helps students from developing Commonwealth countries get scholarships.

These scholarships are for people from Commonwealth countries with low or middle incomes who want to study for a Master’s degree full-time on certain courses.

Some full-time Master’s courses that are taught are eligible for Commonwealth Shared Scholarships.

These scholarships do not pay for a PhD or any English language lessons before the session starts.

Commonwealth Shared Scholarships Universities

  1. Aberystwyth University
  2. Bangor University
  3. Bath Spa University
  4. Brunel University London
  5. City University London
  6. Coventry University
  7. Cranfield University
  8. Durham University
  9. Goldsmiths University of London
  10. Imperial College London
  11. King’s College London
  12. Liverpool Hope University
  13. Liverpool John Moores University
  14. London School of Economics and Political Science
  15. London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine
  16. Newcastle University
  17. Nottingham Trent University
  18. Oxford Brookes University
  19. Queen Margaret University
  20. Queen Mary, University of London
  21. Queen’s University Belfast
  22. Royal Holloway, University of London
  23. Royal Veterinary College
  24. Sheffield Hallam University
  25. SOAS, University of London
  26. St Mary’s University
  27. University College London
  28. University of Aberdeen
  29. University of Bath
  30. University of Birmingham
  31. University of Bristol
  32. University of Cambridge
  33. University of Chester
  34. University of East Anglia
  35. University of Edinburgh
  36. University of Exeter
  37. University of Glasgow
  38. University of Kent
  39. University of Leeds
  40. University of Leicester
  41. University of Lincoln
  42. University of Nottingham
  43. University of Oxford
  44. University of Portsmouth
  45. University of Reading
  46. University of Salford
  47. University of Southampton
  48. University of St Andrews
  49. University of Stirling
  50. University of Strathclyde
  51. University of Sussex (Institute of Development Studies)
  52. University of the West of England
  53. University of Warwick
  54. University of Wolverhampton

Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Eligible Courses – Categorized Under Six Themes

  1. Science and technology for development
  2. Strengthening health systems and capacity
  3. Promoting global prosperity
  4. Strengthening global peace, security and governance
  5. Strengthening resilience and response to crises
  6. Access, inclusion and opportunity

Eligible Candidates

To apply for the Commonwealth Shared Scholarship scholarships, you must:

  • Be a citizen of or have been granted refugee status by an eligible Commonwealth country, or be a British Protected Person
  • Be permanently resident in an eligible Commonwealth country
  • Be available to start your academic studies in the UK by the start of the UK academic year in September/October 2020
  • By September 2020, hold a first degree of at least upper second class (2:1) standard, or a second class degree and a relevant postgraduate qualification.
  • Not have studied or worked for one (academic) year or more in a high income country
  • And lastly, be unable to afford to study in the UK without this scholarship

Application Criteria for Commonwealth Shared Scholarship

  • Academic merit of the candidate
  • The potential impact of the work on the development of the candidate’s home country


The award will cover:

  • Tuition fees
  • Maintenance allowance
  • Economy air travel to and from the UK
  • Plus additional discretionary allowances.

The award is usually tenable for one year.

Application Procedure

  • You must apply for the scholarship on the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission Electronic Application System (EAS) online following the procedures described on their website.

Below is a list of the most recent Commonwealth Shared Scholarships.